skip navigation

Who were the best football players in the state this year?

By JT Cotterill - Tacoma News Tribune, 12/26/17, 8:00AM PST


By TJ Cotterill


UPDATED December 22, 2017 04:42 PM

The Associated Press released its 2017 all-state high school football teams on Friday, as voted on by sports writers across the state.

O’Dea running back Jamyn Patu was selected as the overall state player of the year after leading the Fighting Irish to the 3A state title in the Tacoma Dome over Rainier Beach. He ran for 2,208 yards and 28 touchdowns.

He shared the 3A state player of the year honor with Garfield’s Tre’Shaun Harrison, a former Oregon commit who earned The News Tribune’s all-state player of the year.

But the teams were littered with players from the South Sound, including two from Sumner earning first-team 4A all-state honors. TCU-bound Ben Wilson was the top linebacker selected and Tre Weed, the 4A SPSL MVP was both a first-team all-purpose pick and a first-team defensive back.BSCRIBE NO

They led Sumner to their second consecutive trip to the 4A state semifinals. Wilson had 141 tackles (11 for losses) and he ran for 1,259 yards and 20 TDs on offense, while Weed compiled 2,054 all-purpose yards.

Talan Alfrey, The News Tribune’s All-Area player of the year, was both a first-team wide receiver and a first-team defensive back. He signed his letter of intent this week to play safety at Brigham Young University after catching 68 passes for 1,081 yards and 12 TDs, while also earning the 4A NPSL Olympic’s defensive MVP with 87 tackles and two interceptions.

Hazen’s Delvon McNeely earned first-team running back alongside Monroe’s Isaiah Lewis after rushing for 1,514 yards and 23 touchdowns, finishing the season with 2,002 all-purpose yards and earning the 4A NPSL Cascade’s co-offensive back of the year.

And Emerald Ridge’s Mosiah Nasili-Liu, who this week signed his letter of intent to play at the University of Washington, earned first-team defensive end, and Auburn Riverside’s Tiano Malietufa, the 4A NPSL’s offensive player of the year, earned first-team linebacker, and so did Kentlake’s Marques Fuala’au.

Each of them were members of The News Tribune’s All-Area football team.

Richland’s Adam Wiessenfels earned the 4A player of the year after the defensive back led the Bombers to the 4A state title.

Some of the top recruits on the first team: Gonzaga Prep’s UW signee Devin Culp (tight end), Skyline’s Cal-bound offensive lineman Matthew Cindric, Woodinville’s WSU-bound offensive lineman Cale Beresford.

UW commit Dylan Morris, a junior, was a 4A honorable mention selection at quarterback behind Richland’s Cade Jensen.


In 3A, the Pierce County League offensive player of the year, Bethel’s Nate Hughes, earned first-team quarterback after throwing for 2,605 yards and 34 touchdowns (with five interceptions), while completing 67 percent of his passes. He is a junior.

Timberline had three players on the first team, with Mason Simeta, the 3A South Sound Conference’s defensive player of the year, earning first-team linebacker, Conner Warick, the 3A SSC lineman of the year, earning first-team defensive line and Toby Toby Selvester earned first-team kicker.

Lincoln’s Giovonni White was a first-team defensive lineman after earning the PCL lineman of the year.

Here are the full all-state teams:

State player of the year, all classes:

RB Jamyn Patu, sr., O’Dea


Highlights as Adam Weissenfels leads Richland to 4A title win over Woodinville, 28-21

Adam Weissenfels tied a 4A state championship record with three interceptions in Richland's 28-21 win for the big trophy over Woodinville. He, quarterback Cade Jensen and coach Mike Neidhold discuss the victory.

TJ Cotterill


Player of the year: Adam Weissenfels, sr., Richland


Quarterback: Cade Jensen, Richland

Running back: Isaiah Lewis, Monroe, Delvon McNeely, Hazen

Wide receiver: Talan Alfrey, Auburn Mountainview, Darien Chase, Union

Tight end: Devin Culp, Gonzaga Prep

Offensive line: Matthew Cindric, Skyline, Cade Beresford, Woodinville, Triston Kelley, Central Valley, Josh Jerome, Monroe, Joshua Alvarez, Chiawana

All-purpose: Tre Weed, Sumner

Defensive line: Jake Baillie, Woodinville, Matt Sevao, Lake Stevens, Jacobe Lee, Richland, Mosiah Nasili-Liu, Emerald Ridge

Linebackers: Ben Wilson, Sumner; Ricky Baker, Monroe, Marques Fuala’au, Kentlake, Tiano Malietufa, Auburn Riverside, Luke Bruno, Camas.

Defensive backs: Nash Fouch, Woodinville, Talan Alfrey, Auburn Mountainview, Tre Weed, Adam Weissenfels, Richland

Kicker: Colin Manners, Graham-Kapowsin

Punter: Heston Pettis, Glacier Peak


QB: Dylan Morris, Graham-Kapowsin

WR: Jabez Tinae, Kennedy Catholic, Tre Mason, Graham-Kapowsin

OL: Ethan Tela-Porter, Graham-Kapowsin, Nathan Mead, Monroe, Riley Clark, Sumner. Campbell Barrington, University

All-purpose: Colin McKay, Todd Beamer, Adam Weissenfels, Richland

DL: Wyatt Wickham, Central Valley

LB: Andrew Gallagher, Sunnyside, Riley Miller, Union.

DB: Landen Neff, Puyallup

K: Brock Widman, Lake Stevens




The best plays from the best high school football players in 2017

Top highlights from The News Tribune's 2017 all-state high school football team, which includes player of the year Tre'Shaun Harrison of Garfield, Archbishop Murphy's Kyler Gordon, Gonzaga Prep's Devin Culp and Graham-Kapowsin's Dylan Morris among others .

TJ Cotterill


Players of the Year: Tre’Shaun Harrison, Garfield, and Jamyn Patu, O’Dea


Quarterback: Nate Hughes, jr., Bethel

Running backs: Isaiah Ifanse, sr., Bellevue, Jamyn Patu, sr., O’Dea

Wide receivers: Champ Grayson, sr., Kamiakin, Tre’Shaun Harrison, sr., Garfield

Tight end: Anthony Stell, sr., Rainier Beach

Offensive line: Nathaniel Kalepo, jr., Rainier Beach, Jackson Reed, sr., Eastside Catholic, Griffin Korican, sr., O’Dea, Mikhail Varetskiy, sr., Ferndale, Chase Bowes, sr., Timberline.

Defensive line: Davion Dixon, sr., O’Dea, Tyler McAtee, sr., Edmonds-Woodway, Giovonni White, jr., Lincoln, Mikhail Varetskiy, sr., Ferndale, Conner Warick, sr., Timberline

Linebacker: Sav’ell Smalls, soph., Garfield, Payton Bastien, sr., Arlington, Mason Simeta, sr., Timberline, Dillon Crawford, sr., Kamiakin.

Defensive backs: Malik Putney, sr., Eastside Catholic, James Hinson, sr., Ferndale, Dorian Hardin, jr., Oak Harbor, Michael Barnes, sr., Timberline.

All-purpose: Tre’Shaun Harrison, sr., Garfield

Punter: Lance D’Alessio, sr., Lake Washington

Kicker: Toby Selvester, Timberline, sr.


WR: Jonny Barrett, jr., Mount Si; Chris Penner, jr., Capital

TE: Tristyn Gese, sr., Bethel

OL: Geirean Hatchett, soph., Ferndale; Conner Warick, sr., Timberline; Hector Jasso III, sr., Lakes; Giovanni White, jr., Lincoln; Joey Roberts, sr., Mountain View

DL: Geirean Hatchett, soph., Ferndale; Jackson Harris, sr., Snohomish

LB: Alex Cleary, sr., Ferndale; Dominic Lawrence, sr. Edmonds-Woodway; Alex Gillies, sr., Lincoln

DB: Noah Becker, sr., Edmonds-Woodway; Jamin Faalogo, jr., Timberline; Braedon Potter, jr., Peninsula

All-purpose: Michael Barnes, sr., Timberline

K: Cody McDonald, sr., Mount Spokane